Our Southeast Conference

We are one of the 38 conferences of the United Church of Christ, and comprised of a five-and-a-half state area including the states of Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee (excluding the city of Memphis), Alabama, Mississippi (excluding the coastal area surrounding Interstate10), and the Florida panhandle west of the Apalachicola River.

charleston_circularThe Southeast Conference (SEC) is the successor to the Southeast Convention of Congregational Christian Churches. Before the formation of the Southeast Conference, the Congregational Christian Convention of the South was body of the African-American Black Congregationalists and Afro-Christian churches. Southern Congregationalism has been a little-known and minor tradition among the Southern churches. However, its roots extend back to the establishment of the Circular Congregational Church in Charleston, South Carolina in 1681 (pictured above), and the historic Midway Congregational Church in Midway, Georgia, established in 1752 (pictured below). The work of the American Missionary Association during the latter part of the 19th century, through which an estimated 500 schools and 200 churches were established to serve the recently emancipated enslaved, has left an enduring impact on the life of the Southeast Conference. Other strands of past and current denominational traditions that have been parts of the Southeast Conference include Congregational Methodism, Black Congregationalists, Afro-Christian Churches, Welsh Congregationalism, Evangelical and Reformed churches, and white churches of the Christian Connection.

midwaychurch1Today a conference minister, an associate conference minister, an executive administrator, and several other part-time associates serve the Conference. It is governed by a board of directors, and holds an annual meeting in June. It is comprised of three associations, the Georgia-South Carolina Association, the East Alabama-West Georgia Association, and the Alabama-Tennessee Association.